With the goal of reducing maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, ACOG has partnered with The Joint Commission on the development of a new Maternal Levels of Care (MLC) Verification program, effective January 1, 2022.

The Levels of Maternal Care (LoMC) Obstetric Care Consensus, first published in 2015 by ACOG and the Society for Maternal–Fetal Medicine (SMFM), defines the required minimal capabilities, physical facilities, and medical and support personnel for each level of care, which include:

  • Level I (basic care)
  • Level II (specialty care)
  • Level III (subspecialty care)
  • Level IV (regional perinatal health care centers) 

The voluntary verification process will be conducted by The Joint Commission and will involve an on-site comprehensive review of the maternal services available in hospitals and critical-access hospitals, as well as a level of maternal care determination. 

Please see below for answers to frequently asked questions about this collaborative agreement.


Frequently Asked Questions

If you have additional questions, email [email protected].