The 2022 Haffner Award

On behalf of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, the College Committee on American Indian and Alaska Native Women’s Health is extremely pleased to announce that Jennifer Whitehair, MD, FACOG, is the 2022 recipient of the Award for her career-long commitment to the highest standards of clinical care for American Indian and Alaska Native Women. Read the complete announcement.

Call for Nominations: 2023 Haffner Award

Nominations for recipients of this annual ACOG award for 2023 will be solicited throughout the Indian Health system in several months. Please consider nominating a provider who demonstrates the outstanding caliber of those already recognized when the nominations are opened for the next award cycle.

Clinicians could be, but do not need to be, obstetricians and gynecologists. Any health care professional such as a family physician, physician assistant, registered nurse, certified nurse midwife, or nurse practitioner can be nominated for this award. Nominees must clearly demonstrate sustained commitment and dedication to providing exceptional care to AI/AN women, and they must be currently working within an IHS or Tribal position or be recently retired from such a position.

Submit a nomination

To submit a nomination, email a letter of nomination and a CV of the person nominated to AI/AN ACOG staff at [email protected]. Any questions about the award or the nomination process may be addressed to AI/AN ACOG staff at the above email address.

Nominations will be reviewed and scored by the awards committee of the ACOG Committee on American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health. An endowed fund raised by contributions from friends of ACOG and its Indian women’s health initiatives, supplemented by ACOG’s overall endowment, support the cost of sustaining this annual award process.