Membership and Fellowship |

ACOG Welcomes New President and National Officers

ACOG was excited to welcome the organization’s new president who was inaugurated on April 25 as well as the new national officers who were just elected this month.


These officers are dedicated to serving ACOG, building our organization for the future, and representing our members with fairness and equity. Their work will help further our goal to provide outstanding health care to women across the country and around the world. They will also help our organization as we continue to advance the evidence-based perspective we offer on women’s health care in our work, education efforts, research, and advocacy.

New President is Sworn In

Dr. Eva Chalas, MD, FACOG, FACS, was inaugurated as ACOG’s 71st president. She delivered her presidential address on Saturday. During her speech, she announced the launch of her new initiative to bring renewed focus to preventive care, and as a result, improve outcomes in women’s health. Watch her inaugural presidential address.

Dr. Chalas, MD, is a professor and vice chair of obstetrics and gynecology at New York University Long Island School of Medicine. She holds the administrative position of physician director at the Perlmutter Cancer Center at NYU Winthrop Hospital in Mineola, New York, where she also serves as surgeon co-Champion for the National Surgical Quality Improvement Program. Throughout her career, she has been dedicated to advocating and caring for women with gynecologic cancers or complex gynecologic problems.

Dr. Chalas has held a variety of leadership positions at ACOG, including as the chair of District II and the chair of the Council of District Chairs. She has also held leadership roles at the Society of Gynecologic Oncology, American College of Surgeons, Foundation of Women’s Cancer, and as the Society of Gynecologic Oncology representative to the ACOG executive board.

New National Officers Elected

ACOG also congratulated its newly elected 2020 national officers who will join Dr. Chalas and some current members of the Executive Board. Thank you to all of our members for making your voices heard and participating throughout the election process. The new national officers include:

  • President-elect – J. Martin Tucker, MD, FACOG
  • Assistant Secretary – Verda Hicks, MD, FACOG
  • Treasurer – David Doty, DO, FACOG
  • Fellow-at-Large – Tamika Auguste, MD, FACOG
  • Young Physician-at-Large – Noah Rindos, MD, FACOG

ACOG thanks members for their continued engagement and commitment to making ACOG the top-notch organization that it is, with leaders that make us proud and uphold our organization’s values.

Learn more about getting involved and participating in ACOG, including by becoming a candidate for local or national office.