Membership and Fellowship |

ACOG Congratulates 2023 Haffner Award Winner Amanda Bruegl, MD


Amanda Bruegl, MD, is the 2023 recipient of the prestigious Outstanding American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health Care Clinician Award, also known as the William H.J. Haffner AI/AN Women’s Health Award.

The ACOG Committee on American Indian and Alaska Native Women’s Health is extremely pleased to recognize Amanda Bruegl, MD, as the 2023 Haffner award winner for her career-long commitment to the highest standards of clinical care for American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) women. The award will be presented at the 2023 ACOG Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting during the AI/AN Women’s Health Committee reception and Haffner Award ceremony.

Dr. Bruegl earned her bachelor’s of science in biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin–Madison, her medical degree with Indian health pathway distinction from the University of Washington School of Medicine, her master’s of science in cancer biology from the University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and her master’s in clinical and translational research from the Oregon Health & Science University. After initially exploring family medicine as her specialty, she chose obstetrics and gynecology for her residency—and once she completed a rotation in gynecologic oncology, she knew she had found her path. She went on to complete a fellowship in gynecologic oncology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in 2015. She is a sought-after speaker, presenter, and advocate and supports students, patients, and many others in her role as associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the Oregon Health & Science University. She also sees patients for complex gynecologic care at the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs Health and Wellness Center one day a month.

Dr. Bruegl has a proven record of collaboration and community engagement. Her early research career was devoted to regional and national activities for building trust within the AI/AN community while also advocating for AI/AN women’s health. Colleagues say that in advancing cancer screening and prevention, Dr. Bruegl has helped bring the novel practice of high-risk HPV self-collection to the front lines of cervical cancer prevention by including rural and Tribal partners in developing strategies to incorporate HPV self-collection into existing cervical cancer screening programs. She also made valuable advances toward this goal by developing a patient decision-making aid to empower people to choose the cervical cancer screening strategy that best aligns with their values.

Dr. Bruegl has clearly earned the distinction of being the 2023 recipient of the Haffner Award. She joins a long tradition of awardees who have made extraordinary contributions to the care of Indigenous and Native people who seek obstetric and gynecologic care.

An overall endowment from ACOG matches an endowed fund raised by contributions from friends of ACOG and Indigenous health initiatives to support the cost of sustaining this annual award process.

Learn more about previous Haffner Award winners and find out when and how to submit a nomination.

Learn more about ACOG’s work to advance Indigenous health.