DE Section Maternal Health Awareness Day

Virtual Meeting | Jan 23, 2021


Conference Agenda: Saturday, January 23, 2021

  • 9:00-9:15 a.m.

    Vanita Jain, M0, FACOGD
    Vice Chair, DE Section ACOG
    Managing partner, Delaware Center for Maternal and Fetal Medicine of Christiana Care

    Garrett Colmorgen, MD, FACOG
    Medical Director, Delaware Perinatal Quality Cooperative 
    President, Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline

  • 9:15-9:55 a.m.
    Mindfulness Lecture

    Diane J. Abatemarco, PhD, MSW
    Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Pediatrics Director of Maternal Addiction Treatment, Education and Research (MATER); Thomas Jefferson

  • 9:55-10:55 a.m.
    Recorded Webinar

    Introduction: Nancy Fan, MD, FACOG
    Chair, DE Section ACOG
    Women to Women OB/GYN, Saint Francis Healthcare

    Joia Adele Crear-Perry, MD, FACOG
    Founder & President, National Birth Equity Collaborative
    Advisory Committee Member, Black Mamas Matter Alliance

  • 10:55-11:10 a.m.
  • 11:10-11:45 a.m.
    Live Roundtable Discussion

    Councilwoman Shané Darby
    Black Mothers in Power;  2nd District Council Member, Wilmington

    Representative Melissa Minor-Brown (D)
    District 17: New Castle

    Representative Sherry Dorsey Walker (D)
    District 3: Wilmington

    Senator S. Elizabeth Lockman (D)
    District 3: Wilmington, Newport

    Senator Nicole Poore (D)
    Senate Majority Leader
    District 12:  New Castle and Bear, Delaware City, south of the Chesapeake & Delaware Canal

    Moderator: Margaret Chou, MD, FACOG
    Secretary, DE Section ACOG
    Medical Director (Obstetrics) of the Nemours & ChristianaCare Advanced Delivery Program

  • 11:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m.
    Legislative Forum

    Federal Delegation

    US Senator Tom Carper (D)
    US Senator Chris Coons (D)
    US Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester (D)

    State Delegation

    Senator Bryan Townsend (D) 
    Senate Majority Whip 
    District 11: Newark, Bear
    Representative David Bentz (D) 
    District 18: Bear
    Senator Marie Pinkney (D) 
    District 13: South Wilmington, Wilmington Manor, Bear
    Senator Sarah McBride (D)
    Chair, Senate Health & Social Services Committee
    District 1:  Claymont, Bellefonte, Edgemoor, Wilmington

    Facilitator: Vanita Jain, MD, FACOG

  • 12:15 p.m.

    Nancy Fan, MD