Patient Safety Program for Residents

A Patient Safety Program for Residents was first developed in 2011 by the CREOG Education Committee, after consultation with the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) [Maintenance of Certification] and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Committee on Patient Safety and Quality Improvement.

The 2014-2015 CREOG Education Committee has updated the Patient Safety Program for Residents slide set to contain ten modules with more focused content slides (specific to resident roles in promoting patient safety).

Additionally, “Clinical Correlation” slides within each module facilitate discussion based on the content slides.

We hope these modules will be useful in either the large-group (faculty-led) or small-group (resident peer or individual study) formats.

At the end of each module, there is a slide that can be printed and submitted to document completion of the module (honor system), if an individual program chooses to track in this fashion.

The CREOG Education Committee (2014-2015) 

  • May Hsieh Blanchard, MD (Chair)*
  • Randal D. Robinson, MD (Vice-chair)
  • Karen E. Adams, MD
  • Erika H. Banks, MD
  • Maureen E. Farrell, MD*
  • Leah Kaufman, MD*
  • Jennifer Mendillo Keller, MD
  • Michael T. McHale, MD
  • Amanda B. Murchison, MD
  • Elaine H. Stickrath, MD
  • Erica E. Taylor, MD


  • Tony Ogburn, MD, CREOG Chair
  • Mark B. Woodland, MS, MD, CREOG Vice Chair
  • Patrice M. Weiss, MD, CREOG Program Chair
  • Rebecca P. McAlister, MD, CREOG School Chair


  • Sandra Carson, MD, ACOG VP Education
    DeAnne Nehra, Director of CREOG

*special thanks for lead work on these modules