The Committee on Continuing Medical Education (CCME) is responsible for ensuring compliance with the updated criteria and standards for commercial support of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and requirements of other regulatory agencies.

The CCME is also responsible for the College's joint providership program, which provides quality CME and awards CME credit for outside organizations and the College's District, Section, and in-house educational activities. Because these groups are not independently accredited by the ACCME, they apply to receive CME through the College. The process is well defined to ensure ACCME compliance.

The Committee administers the Program for Continuing Professional Development, also known as the Cognate Program. The program is open to all membership categories for physicians. Enrollment in the program is automatic upon the College's receipt of the first appropriate continuing medical education activity verification. Appropriate verification is a certificate of attendance from the provider indicating that the activity is ACCME accredited. The certificate must include the AMA accreditation statement.

Committee Members for 2020

Chrystie Kimie Fujimoto, MD, District VIII

Vice Chair
Erin C. Brousseau, MD, District I

District Members

District I
Erin C. Brousseau, MD

District II
Ashley Roman, MD

District III
Gordon Ostrum, MD

District IV
Stephen H. Bush, MD

District V
Melissa March, MD

District VI
Joel Henry, MD

District VII
Melissa Hague, MD

District VIII
Alson Burke, MD

District IX
Dane Maxwell Shipp, MD

Armed Forces District
Barton C. Staat, MD

District XI
Luke Newton, MD

District XII
J. Kell Williams, MD

District XII
Dikea Kay Roussos-Ross, MD

Annual Clinical Meeting Liaison
David Miller, MD
Amy Young, MD (after 2020 Annual Meeting) 

Executive Board Member: District IV
Anne Banfield, MD

Liaison Members

Federacion Mexicana de Ginecologia y Obstetricia: District VII
Francisco J. Ruiloba, MD

The Society of Obstetricians and Gynecologists of Canada: District V
Jennifer Blake, MD

The Society of Obstetricians and Gynecologists of Canada: District V
Jocelynn L. Cook, PhD MBA

Young Physician Member: District X
Jason C. Massengill, MD

Young Physician Member: District XI
Ivvanee E. Martinez, MD

William Rayburn, MD 


Vice President for Education
Marc Jackson, MD, MBA

Senior Director, Department of Continuing Professional Development
Vanita Murray, CHCP, MDE

Cognate Administrator, Department of Continuing Professional Development
Christina Brooks