District IX has seven standing committees. Most of the committees' work is done via email and conference calls throughout the year, with occasional in-person meetings (one to two per year).

Committees consist of approximately 25 members. Committee Chairs are appointed by the Executive Committee. Committee terms are typically two years, with the option for reappointment for an additional term, and can be extended at the Chair's discretion. Each committee also has a Junior Fellow Co-Chair. Junior Fellow Co-Chairs are limited to one 2-year term.

How to Apply

Committee membership is open to Fellow and Junior Fellow members. Applications are reviewed at the end of each year for committee appointments beginning the following January. To be considered, submit your CV and letter of interest to Carmen McCormick, District IX Manager, at [email protected] by November 30.

If you want to apply for more than one committee, please submit a separate letter for each committee. Committee membership is limited to no more than two committees per person in order to maximize opportunities for participation among District members.


Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Our mission is to empower ACOG members and our healthcare partners to transform the delivery of obstetric and gynecologic medical care into clinical practice that respects and celebrates the diversity of our experience, culture, and perspective to achieve optimal health for our patients. We aim to accomplish this work by creating an inclusive and collaborative professional organization that fosters equitable patient care.


  • Cat Cansino, MD
  • Deirdre Logan, MD
  • Jayla Watkins, MD

Committee on Global Health

Our mission is to promote resource sharing and educational opportunities around global health challenges unique to women. We aim to advocate for high-quality healthcare for women and families within our district and around the world.


  • Maureen Ries, MD
  • Minako Watabe, MD
  • Mariana Ramos-Rivera, MD (Junior Fellow Co-Chair)

Committee on Health Care for Underserved Women & Gender Diverse Individuals

Our mission is to promote equitable social, economic, and environmental conditions to achieve optimal health, mental health, and well-being for all California individuals.


  • Tania Basu Serna, MD, MPH
  • Eve Zaritsky, MD
  • Nandini Nittur, MD (Junior Fellow Co-Chair)

Committee Patient Safety and Quality Improvement

Our mission is to engage health care providers, organizations, and policy makers to help establish an environment of patient safety which optimizes the outcomes of health care for birthing people and their infants. The goal of the committee is to promote a healthy and safe environment for the gynecologic and obstetric care in California.


  • Susan Crowe, MD
  • DJ Singh, MD
  • Allyson Jang, MD (Junior Fellow Co-Chair)

Committee on Physician Wellness

Our mission is to further ACOG’s goal of providing quality care to patients by actively promoting wellness in the mind, body, and spirit. A healthy and happy physician serves as a role model for and provides higher quality care to patients.


  • John McHugh, MD
  • Marie Boller, MD
  • Kelly Darmawan, MD (Junior Fellow Co-Chair)

Committee on Public Health

The Public Health Committee leads and supports programs that protect and promote optimal obstetrics and gynecology health. Our goal is to advise and disseminate best practices relating the tenets of population health and promotion of public health recommendations, knowing that this will ultimately improve the health of individuals.


  • Douglas Fenton, MD
  • Hayley Miller, MD
  • Onyemaechi Anoruo, MD (Junior Fellow Co-Chair)

Committee on State Legislation

Our mission is to advocate on behalf of obstetrician–gynecologists in the state of California and their patients through the legislative and regulatory processes.


  • Juliana Melo, MD
  • Shilpa Matthews, MD
  • Danielle Vachon, MD (Junior Fellow Co-Chair)