Membership and Fellowship |

You're Invited: Spring Awards Ceremony Honors DC Healthcare Heroes


Join the Medical Society of the District of Columbia in celebrating Tamika Auguste, MD, FACOG, Charles H. Epps, III Community Service Award Recipient, during a virtual ceremony on Friday, May 14, 2021, 5:30–7:30 p.m. ET.

Tamika Auguste, MD, FACOG, is a powerful, positive force for public health and for public service to the community. She is a dedicated physician leader with a mission to reduce black maternal mortality, who not only gives back to the community but fosters community through her love of medicine and service. Her passion for service includes mentoring and empowering other physicians and trainees with her expertise, leadership, and energy.

Join Us in An Online Toast to Dr. Auguste

In addition to the awards presentation, there will be online networking receptions. Connect informally with the obstetrics and gynecology community and other District physicians, including a post-ceremony networking reception dedicated to Dr. Auguste. Learn more or register at The fee is waived for DC ACOG members with code DCACOG.

Meet the Other Awardees

Distinguished Service Award: Maria Aramburu, MD, and Anjali Malik, MD, (Women in Medicine Co-chairs) for outstanding service to the Medical Society of the District of Columbia.

John Benjamin Nichols Award: Ward 8 Health Council leaders Walter Faggett, MD, and Calvin Smith for outstanding contributions toward improving the health of the community.

John Benjamin Nichols Award: Terry Fairbanks, MD, Vice President of Quality and Safety, MedStar Health, for outstanding contributions toward improving the health of the community.

President’s Award: Joseph Gutierrez, MD, MSDC Past President and Past AMA Delegation Chair. This award is in honor of lifetime service.