District I congratulates Ellen M. Joyce, MD, recipient of a 2020 Outstanding District Service Award. This year's recipients were announced at the virtual Annual Business Meeting on April 25.

This award recognizes effective leaders and outstanding contributions performed by a Fellow on behalf of their particular district.

2020 Award Recipient

Ellen M. Joyce, MD

Dr. Ellen M. Joyce earned a Bachelor of Science in mathematics from Georgetown University in Washington, DC and a medical degree from Hahnemann University in Philadelphia. She completed a residency in obstetrics and gynecology at Lehigh Valley Hospital Center in Allentown, Pennsylvania. A board-certified obstetrician–gynecologist and full-time nighttime hospitalist at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon, New Hampshire, Dr. Joyce currently is the director of the night float for the obstetrics and gynecology residents.

With the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), Dr. Joyce is a Fellow of Physicians for Reproductive Health, completing the program with the National Leadership Institute in 2019. She is the 2019 District I McCain Fellow and spent two weeks in Washington, DC, with ACOG’s Government Affairs office. She currently serves as chair of ACOG’s New Hampshire Section. 

Dr. Joyce is passionate about women’s health care and reproductive rights. She has given two press conferences to protect the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, has had three op-eds published in support of women’s right to choose, and served on a statewide commission to make hormonal contraceptives available without a prescription. As part of a reproductive rights coalition to codify into law the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act standards that made contraceptives free, she was involved in getting a menstrual equity law passed that made menstrual products available in all public middle school and high school bathrooms.

In 2015, Dr. Joyce received the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics Clinical Teacher of the Year Award from the Geisel School of Medicine. In 2018, she was the Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology (CREOG) Teacher of the Year for Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center’s obstetrics and gynecology residency program.