Excellence in obstetric and gynecologic health care is an essential element of the long-term physical, intellectual, social and economic well-being of any society. It is a basic determinant of the health of future generations.

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) is the representative organization of physicians who are qualified obstetric and gynecologic specialists. ACOG calls for quality health care appropriate to every person's needs throughout their life and for assuring that a full array of clinical services be available to those seeking obstetric and gynecologic care without costly delays or the imposition of cultural, geographic, financial, or legal barriers.

ACOG membership is committed to facilitating both access to and quality of health care. Fellows should exercise their responsibility to improve the health status of people seeking obstetric and gynecologic care and their families, both in the traditional patient-physician relationships and by working within their communities and at the state and national levels to ensure access to high-quality programs meeting the health needs of all people. Fellows must not discriminate against patients based on race, color, national origin, disability, age, religion, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, or any other basis.

In addition, it is critical that all Americans be provided with adequate and affordable health coverage. There remains a considerable portion of the American population that does not have health insurance coverage. As a result, those individuals often defer obtaining preventive and medical services, jeopardizing the health and well-being of themselves and their families. ACOG supports universal coverage that is designed to improve the individual and collective health of society. Expanding health coverage to all Americans must become a high priority.

Approved by the Board of Directors July 1988
Amended September 1999
Amended and Reaffirmed July 2003
Amended and Reaffirmed July 2006
Amended and Reaffirmed July 2009
Amended and Reaffirmed July 2013
Reaffirmed July 2016
Amended and Reaffirmed July 2019
Amended and Reaffirmed July 2022