Resident training in obstetrics and gynecology incorporates the full spectrum of obstetric and gynecologic practice as defined in the special requirements promulgated by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). These include diagnostic, therapeutic and operative procedures used in the practice of the specialty. The certification process of the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology Inc. (ABOG) evaluates medical knowledge and patient care skills of individual practitioners in the broad range of obstetrics, gynecology and women’s health care. The Maintenance of Certification process, developed by ABOG, measures acquisition of new scientific knowledge and new practice guidelines as well as continuing proficiency in the range of practice in which the individual is currently engaged.

Subspecialty certification and maintenance of certification (MOC) in maternal-fetal medicine (MFM), reproductive endocrinology and infertility (REI), gynecologic oncology (GO), and female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery (FPMRS) is available to those who have successfully completed a fellowship accredited by ACGME (MFM, REI, GO, FPMRS). Through advanced training and certification of special competence, these certified subspecialists have demonstrated knowledge and skills in addition to those of obstetrician-gynecologists.

ABOG certification (or active candidate for certification status) is an important factor considered by local institutions and organizations when credentialing obstetrician-gynecologists to provide in-patient care, and to perform in-patient or ambulatory procedures.

ACOG recognizes that ongoing education, training and experience are necessary to maintain competence and to assure development of competence in newly introduced procedures or technologies. To accomplish this, physicians should participate in continuing medical education programs, the ABOG Maintenance of Certification process as appropriate, and be familiar with current information and guidelines on patient care.

In addition, physicians should review their individual patient outcome data, and participate in quality assurance programs that are relevant to the care they provide and to the procedures they perform. Obstetrician-gynecologists who desire to expand their procedural skills should participate in appropriate educational and training programs. Physicians will need to follow their institutional credentialing guidelines and requirements when applying for privileges to perform these procedures.

In conclusion, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists reaffirms that current certification by ABOG and maintenance of certification of obstetrician-gynecologists is validation of the medical, surgical, imaging and laboratory knowledge and patient care skills relevant to the practice of the specialty. No additional certification should be required for credentialing for those procedures and care which fall within the scope of an individual’s current ABOG certification. 

Approved February 2008
Revised and Approved July 2012
Amended and Reaffirmed July 2015
Amended and Reaffirmed July 2018
Reaffirmed July 2021