There are several subspecialties in obstetrics and gynecology recognized by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG). ABOG administers certification exams for each subspecialty. Ob-gyns may be certified in one or more areas. Additionally, ob-gyns may pursue outside opportunities within specialties not recognized by ABOG.

Boarded Subspecialties

Gynecologic Oncology

You will learn to manage and treat cancers of the reproductive system via surgery, chemotherapy, and palliative care.

Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery

You will learn to treat disorders of the genitourinary system via surgery, cystoscopy, and urodynamics.

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

You will learn to treat hormonal and infertility problems using techniques such as laparoscopic surgery and in vitro fertilization.

Maternal-Fetal Medicine

You will learn to treat routine and high-risk obstetrical cases using techniques such as obstetric ultrasonography and other fetal procedures.

Critical Care Medicine

You will gain expertise in the diagnosis, treatment, and support of critically ill and injured patients.

Complex Family Planning

You will learn to provide abortion and contraception care to patients with complex medical conditions and become a leader in the family planning field through training in clinical care, research, and education.

Hospice and Palliative Medicine

You will learn to prevent and relieve the suffering experienced by patients with life-limiting illnesses in an interdisciplinary setting.

Non-Boarded Subspecialties 

Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology

Offers training for treatment of pediatric and adolescent populations for both common and complex health issues.

Menopausal and Geriatric Gynecology

Offers training for treatment of menopausal and geriatric populations for both common and complex health issues.

Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery

Offers training in endoscopic surgery including operative laparoscopy, operative hysteroscopy, and robotics.