Basic Function

The President is a national officer of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. The President, along with the President Elect and Immediate Past President (the “Presidential Officers”), report the policies and tenets of ACOG to the members internally at councils, committees, task forces and district and section functions. Externally, the Presidential Officers represent ACOG’s values, mission, and message to other medical organizations, the government, the media, and the public. The President maintains regular communication with ACOG’s Chief Executive Officer.

Consistent with ACOG's Commitment to Diversity, Equity and Inclusive Excellence, we are dedicated to having a Board and organizational culture that is diverse, equitable, inclusive, anti-racist and founded in justice for our membership and the people they serve. The President will be asked to assist in supporting this commitment.

Primary Responsibilities

The President has fiduciary duties to ACOG including the duty of care and the duty of loyalty. All ACOG Board of Directors responsibilities must be carried out in good faith, with reasonable care, honesty, and due diligence in a manner that is in the best interest of ACOG, not to any constituent group. The President prepares and reviews documents for consistency with ACOG policies, and prepares reports, agendas or other materials for the business of ACOG.

The President attends and presides over all ACOG Board of Directors meetings, serves as chair of the Executive Committee, and serves as ex officio on all other committees except for the Committee on Nominations, the Compensation Committee, the Grievance Committee, and the Appeals Panel Committee. The President oversees the committee structure, appoints replacements to fill committee vacancies, and appoints task forces to address pressing issues affecting ACOG. The President is also responsible for guiding ACOG’s strategic visioning activities. The President serves as chair of the Committee on Government Affairs and takes an active role in all other government affairs related activities.

Additionally, the President is involved in planning the Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting, directs the presidential program and presides over the ACOG Annual Business Meeting held at the Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting. The President shall deliver a presidential address at the Inauguration and Convocation.

The President attends the following regularly scheduled meetings:

  • ACOG Board of Directors Meetings
  • ACOG Board of Directors Retreat
  • ACOG Board of Directors Orientation
  • Executive Committee Meetings
  • Grievance Process Ratifications
  • Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting
  • Annual Business Meeting
  • Council of District Chairs Retreat
  • Annual District Meetings (shared coverage with presidential officers)
  • Interim District Meetings (shared coverage with presidential officers)
  • Committee on Credentials
  • Committee on Finance
  • Committee on Government Affairs
  • All Government Affairs Related Meetings
  • Ob-GynPAC Governing Committee
  • Committee on Scientific Program
  • Congressional Leadership Conference
  • Junior Fellow College Advisory Council
  • Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • International Ob-Gyn Societies as invited representing ACOG

The President must be available to participate in ad hoc meetings and vote on issues between meetings that require Board approval.

Election and Term of Office

The President is elected according to the bylaws and policies and procedures established by the ACOG Board of Directors. The term of office is one year, and the President is not eligible for re-election. The President automatically succeeds to the office of the Immediate Past President.

Time Commitment

The time commitment may be equal to or exceed an average of 20 hours per workweek.


An honorarium is provided to the President for the duties performed and meetings attended. The honorarium may be adjusted depending on circumstances determined by policies and procedures. The Compensation Committee determines the honorarium level annually.