Committee on Continuing Medical Education

The Committee on Continuing Medical Education (CCME) is made up of representatives of ACOG's Districts, liaison members of international organizations (Federacion Mexicana de Ginecologia y Obstetricia and The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada), an Executive Board presentative, representatives from the College programs such as the Committee on Scientific Program (CSP) and the Editor-in-Chief of the College Update Series. The staff includes the Vice President for Education, Senior Director of the Department of Continuing Professional Development, Cognate Administrator, and CME Administrator.

The CCME is responsible for ensuring compliance with the Updated Criteria and standards for commercial support of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education as well as requirements of other regulatory agencies. The CCME is also responsible for the College's joint providership program which provides quality CME and awards CME credit for outside organizations as well as the College's Districts, Section, and in-house educational activities. Because these groups are not independently accredited by the ACCME, they apply to receive CME through the College. The process is well-defined to ensure ACCME compliance. The Committee administers the Program for Continuing Professional Development-Cognate Program. The program is open to all membership categories for physicians. Enrollment in the program is automatic upon the College's receipt of the first appropriate continuing medical education activity verification. Appropriate verification is a certificate of attendance from the provider indicating that the activity is ACCME accredited. The certificate must include the AMA accreditation statement.

2017 Committee Members
Committee on Continuing Medical Education

Chair - District VIII
Chrystie Fujimoto, MD

Vice Chair – District I
Erin C. Brousseau, MD

District I
Erin C. Brousseau, MD

District II
Ashley Roman, MD

District III
Sherry Blumenthal, MD

District IV
Stephen H. Bush, MD

District V
David N. Hackney, MD

District VI
Joel Henry, MD

District VII
Christopher Welsch, MD

District VIII
Alson K. Burke, MD

District IX
Kimberly Gregory, MD

Armed Forces District
Barton Staat, MD

District XI
Amy E. Young, MD

District XII
J. Kell Williams, MD

Annual Clinical Meeting Liaison
J. Kell Williams, MD

Ex Officio

Executive Board Member
Thomas Price, MD

Liaison Members

Federacion Mexicana de
Ginecotogia y Obstetricia

The Society of Obstetricians and 
Gynaecologists of Canada
Jennifer Blake, MD
Jocelynn L. Cook, Ph.D

UPDATE - District V
Robert J. Sokol, MD

Young Physician Member – AFD
Jennifer M. Berarducci, DO

Young Physician Member – District XI
Ivvanee Martinez, MD

Vice President for Education
Sandra Carson, MD

Senior Director, Department of 
Continuing Professional Development
Vanita Murray, CHCP, MDE

Cognate Administrator, Department of 
Continuing Professional Development
Christina Brooks

Continuing Medical Education Administrator,
Department of Continuing Professional Development
Charisse Diggins


Vanita Murray, MDE
Senior Director
Cont Prof Dev


American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188
Mailing Address: PO Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998