Executive Board (College and Congress)

Thomas M. Gellhaus, MD; Iowa City, IA

Professional Position
Division director, General Ob-Gyn, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City, IA; clinical associate professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa City, Iowa; director, Grand Rounds Program, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of Iowa

MD: University of Oklahoma
Residency: Obstetrics/Gynecology, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics; Pathology, University of South Dakota School of Medicine 

ACOG Activities
National: assistant secretary; member, executive committee, Executive Board; Committee Member and Founding Member Ob-Gyn PAC; chair, Credentials Committee; Hearing Panel Committee; Grievance Committee; Continuing Medical Education Committee; International Affairs Committee; Government Affairs and Outreach Committee; chair, Nominating Committee; Global Operations Advisory Group Committee; chair, Global Data Base Task Force; chair, Sub-Committee for Implementation of Task Force on Leadership in the 21st Century; Department of Health and Human Services Primary Care Policy Fellow; McCain Fellow; founder/sponsor, Gellhaus Resident Advocacy Fellowship

District VI: treasurer, vice chair, chair, immediate past chair, past chair; Committee for Underserved Women, Legislative Committee; Patient Safety Committee; Nominating Committee; Council of District Chairs
Chair; Legislative Committee; chair, Nominating Committee

President Elect
Haywood L. Brown, MD, Durham, NCHaywood L. Brown, MD

Professional Position

professor and chair emeritus, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC; chief evaluator, Indianapolis Healthy Start; steering committee chair, District of Columbia National Institutes of Health Initiative on Infant Mortality Reduction; steering committee chair, Perinatal and Patient Safety Health Disparities Collaborative, HRSA; past board of directors, Society for Maternal Fetal Medicine; president, American Gynecological Obstetrical Society (AGOS); chair, Ob-Gyn Section, National Medical Association; director, American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology; president, North Carolina Obstetrical and Gynecological Society.

MD: Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Residency: Obstetrics/Gynecology, University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences

ACOG Activities
National: chair, Scientific Program; chair, Annual Clinical Meeting; chair, CREOG; executive board; chair, Government Relations; chair, Well Women’s Task Force; editor board, Obstetrics and Gynecology (The Green Journal); Committee on Scientific Program; chair, general chair, Scientific Program; Committee for Continuing Medical Education

District IV: immediate past chair; secretary; vice chair


Immediate Past President
Mark S. DeFrancesco, MD, MBA; Waterbury, CT
Mark S. DeFrancesco, MD, MBA

Professional Position
Private practice; assistant clinical professor, University of Connecticut; chief medical officer, Women’s Health Connecticut; founding partner, vice president, and medical director of Physicians for Women’s Health LLC

MD: University of Connecticut
Residency: University of Connecticut

ACOG Activities
National: secretary; member, Executive Boards, Executive Committees; chair, Council of District Chairs; chair, committees on Practice Management, Ambulatory Practice Operations, Bylaws; chair, task forces on SGR Reform, Changing Practice in the 21st Century; chair, SCOPE Steering Committee; chair, Subcommittee to Select the Public Member; member, committees on Finance, Nominations, Continuing Medical Education, Global Women’s Health; member, task forces on Patient Safety in the Office Setting, Section Activities, Enhancing Practice Satisfaction, Committees; member, Global Operations Advisory Group; member, Ob-GynPAC Governing Committee; speaker, Congressional Leadership Conferences; honorary member, Chilean Ob-Gyn Society; member, editorial board, Your Pregnancy and Childbirth, 5th edition; member, medical advisory board, pause® magazine; reviewer, Obstetrics & Gynecology; member, work groups on ACNM-ACOG Liaison, Strategic Planning, Office Patient Safety Assessment; participant, ACOG Leadership Institute; participant and speaker, Chantilly II Conference on Future Directions in Resident Education; ACOG representative to the Board of Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care

District I: chair; vice chair; member, Advisory Council; general chair, Annual District Meeting; chair, Committee on Meetings; member, committees on Nominating, Practice, Scientific Program; Connecticut Section chair, vice chair; chair, Connecticut Providers’ Partnership Task Force on HIV Perinatal Testing


Ted L. Anderson, MD, PhD; Nashville, TN


J. Martin Tucker, MD; Flowood, MS


Assistant Secretary

Laura A. Dean, MD; Stillwater, MN


Executive Vice President and CEO

Hal C. Lawrence, III, MD; Washington, DC


Chair, District I

Markus C. Martin, MD; Quebec, Canada


Chair, District II

Nicholas Kulbida, MD; Niskayuna, NY


Chair, District III

Ann L. Honebrink, MD; Ardmore, PA


Chair, District IV

Thomas W. Hepfer, MD; Salem, SC


Chair, District V

David W. Doty, DO; Louisville, KY


Chair, District VI

Denise M. Elser, MD; Oak Lawn, IL


Chair, District VII

Verda J. Hicks, MD; Leawood, KS


Chair, District VIII

Robert H. Palmer, Jr, MD; Seattle, WA


Chair, District IX

John S. Wachtel, MD; Stanford, CA


Chair, Armed Forces District

John D. O’Boyle, CAPT, MC USN; Bethesda, MD


Chair, District XI

Carl A. (Tony) Dunn, MD; Waco, TX


Chair, District XII

Karen E. Harris, MD, MPH; Gainesville, FL



Wilma I. Larsen, MD; Belton, TX



John P. Keats, MD; Timonium, MD


Young Physician-at-Large

Rajiv B. Gala, MD; New Orleans, LA


Young Physician-at-Large

Tamara G. Helfer, MD, MBA; Champaign, IL


Young Physician-at-Large

Erin A Keyser, MD; San Antonio, TX


Chair, Junior Fellow Congress Advisory Council

Kristen P. Zeligs, MD; Washington, DC

Vice Chair, Junior Fellow Congress Advisory Council
Ryan D. Cuff, MD, Johns Island, SC

Representative, American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Inc

George D. Wendel, Jr, MD, Dallas, TX  


Subspecialty Representative, American Urogynecologic Society

Deborah L. Myers, MD; Providence, RI


Subspecialty Representative, Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Mary E. Norton, MD; San Francisco, CA


Subspecialty Representative, Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

Thomas M. Price, MD, Hillsborough, NC


Subspecialty Representative, Society of Gynecologic Oncology

John P. Curtin, MD; New York, NY


Public Member

Jamie H. Bardwell, MPP; Jackson, MS



American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188 | Mailing Address: PO Box 70620, Washington, DC 20024-9998