ACOG Elects New Officers

May 8, 2017

San Diego, CA – Today, The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) announced the election of Lisa M. Hollier, M.D., M.P.H., of Houston, Texas as president-elect; Wanda K. Nicholson, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., of Chapel Hill, North Carolina as Fellow-at-Large; and Hartaj K. Powell, M.D., M.P.H., of Reston, Virginia as Young Physician-at-Large. They assumed their respective offices on May 8, 2017. 

Lisa M. Hollier, M.D., M.P.H., is a professor in the department of obstetrics and gynecology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. She serves as the Chief Medical Officer for Obstetrics & Gynecology for Texas Children’s Health Plan and is the medical director of Obstetrics and Gynecology for The Centers for Children and Women. She received her Medical Degree from Tulane University School of Medicine and her Master’s in Public Health from Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine in New Orleans, Louisiana. She completed her residency training in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas, Texas, followed by subspecialty fellowship training in Maternal-Fetal Medicine at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, Texas.

Hollier has held many roles in ACOG over her career in Obstetrics and Gynecology. She has been Assistant Secretary of ACOG and served on many College committees and Presidential Task Forces and Work Groups. She chaired the Committee on Professional Liability, the Committee on Credentials and the Work Group on Women’s Health Care Team Leadership. She served as the ACOG representative to the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine board of directors for five years. She currently acts as the Chair of the Texas Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Task Force. 

Hollier is past president of the Texas Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and is Past Chair of District XI of ACOG. Throughout her career, she has been dedicated to caring for the underserved and improving women’s health by advancing women’s health policy. 

Wanda K. Nicholson, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., is a professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Medicine, faculty in the Public Health Leadership Program at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, and Director of the Diabetes and Obesity Core at the UNC Center for Women’s Health Research. Nicholson completed her bachelor’s degree in chemistry, M.D., and residency in obstetrics and gynecology at UNC. Nicholson also earned a Master’s in Public Health from University of California, Berkley, and a Masters of Business Administration from Johns Hopkins University Carey School of Business. 

Nicholson has been active in ACOG for many years. She is immediate past chair of the ACOG’s Committee on Health Care for Underserved Women and serves as ACOG liaison to the FIGO Committee on Safe Motherhood and Infant Health. She is a former ACOG McCain Fellow and served as junior fellows president for North Carolina in District IV.

Throughout her career, Nicholson has been dedicated to advancing women’s health. She was a Fulbright Fellow in Cape Town, South Africa where she studied the applicability of the Midwife Obstetrical Units in the U.S. perinatal system. At UNC she has focused on the development of technology-based interventions to translate evidence-based guidelines into clinical practice, improve patient-centered health outcomes, and expand the care delivered by health care systems. She has also contributed to numerous federal research collaborations on topics ranging from management of uterine fibroids, gestational diabetes and obesity during pregnancy.

Taj Powell, M.D., M.P.H., received her undergraduate degree from Johns Hopkins University. She attended the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School –University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. She went on to complete her residency training at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. 

Powell was an assistant professor at New York University Langone Medical Center in NY, NY at Bellevue Hospital where she oversaw resident and medical student teaching. During her time in NY, she pursued a Master’s in Public Health at Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health. She also served as the medical student clerkship director at NYU before she and her family moved to the DC area.

Currently, Powell is an associate with OB Hospitalist Group and is a hospitalist at Reston Hospital Center in Reston, Virginia. Before becoming a Hospitalist, she was in private practice in Silver Spring, Maryland for two years.

Powell has been actively involved in ACOG on both a national and district level, which started with a four-week elective during her chief year that she spent at ACOG in the Department of Government Affairs. During her time in District II, she served on the Legislative Committee, was the Young Physician District Chair and went to Albany, New York to lobby for her patients and our specialty. She is a regular participant in ACOG’s annual CLC and has served on the Committees on Health and Economics (Coding) and Government Affairs.

In her free time, Powell enjoys spending time with her family – her husband and their two young boys. She especially likes to play soccer, to work out and to travel. She is very humbled and excited to be representing Young Physicians.  


The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (The College), a 501(c)(3) organization, is the nation’s leading group of physicians providing health care for women. As a private, voluntary, nonprofit membership organization of more than 58,000 members, The College strongly advocates for quality health care for women, maintains the highest standards of clinical practice and continuing education of its members, promotes patient education, and increases awareness among its members and the public of the changing issues facing women’s health care. The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), a 501(c)(6) organization, is its companion organization.

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188
Mailing Address: PO Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998