ACOG Elects New Officers

May 8, 2015

San Francisco — Today, The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) announced the election of Thomas Gellhaus, MD, of Iowa City, IA as President Elect; Ted Anderson, MD, PhD, of Nashville, TN as Treasurer; Wilma I. Larsen, MD of Temple, TX, as Fellow-at-Large; and Tamara Helfer, MD of Champaign, IN, as Young Physician-at-Large. They assumed their respective offices on May 6, 2015.

“As exclusive physician specialists for women and leaders in women’s health, obstetrician gynecologists must continue to work together to promote positive change for our patients and specialty,” said ACOG President John C. Jennings, MD. “I congratulate ACOG’s new officers, who represent the best of our profession and look forward to their continued dedication and service to our organization.”

President Elect — Thomas Gellhaus, MD

Dr. Thomas Gellhaus is a Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in Iowa City, Iowa. He graduated from Yankton High School in Yankton, South Dakota, received his Bachelor of Arts Degree in Chemistry from Augustana College in Sioux Falls, South Dakota and his Doctor of Medicine Degree from the University of Oklahoma in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. He completed his residency in Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. Following residency, he entered private practice in Davenport, Iowa and after 20 years in private practice, he returned to academic medicine at the University of Iowa.

Over the past 20 years, Dr. Gellhaus has served in many ACOG positions at the local, regional, national and international levels. Dr. Gellhaus’ interests are in the areas of health care advocacy and policy.  He has also been very involved and active in global healthcare. He has completed the McCain Fellowship, a month long in-depth experience in advocacy, at ACOG in Washington, D.C. in 1999. In 2001, he was a Primary Care Policy Fellow with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. He has remained active in Advocacy and Policy as a member of ACOG’s Government Affairs Committee and the Ob/Gyn PAC. Dr. Gellhaus has also been very active in leading groups on short-term medical and surgical mission projects for the last 20 years.  He has done numerous presentations about these short-term medical and surgical mission projects throughout the United States.

Treasurer — Ted Anderson, MD, PhD

Dr. Ted L. Anderson is Betty and Lonnie S. Burnett professor and vice chair for gynecology in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, TN.  He is also director of the division of gynecology and gynecologic surgery, as well as associate director of the fellowship program in minimally invasive gynecologic surgery.  Dr. Anderson earned his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, MS. He earned a PhD in the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology as well as his Doctor of Medicine Degree at Vanderbilt.  Dr. Anderson then completed an internship in anatomic pathology and subsequently completed a residency in obstetrics and gynecology, as well as a fellowship in minimally invasive gynecologic surgery.

Dr. Anderson spent the early part of his clinical career at the (HCA) Centennial Women’s Hospital, where he served as chair of the ObGyn department before returning to Vanderbilt in 2005 in his current capacity.

Dr. Anderson has served on the Board of Directors for the Mary Parrish Center for Victims of Domestic Violence and has served on the Board of Directors for the American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists and the Fellowship in Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery.

Fellow-at-Large — Wilma I. Larsen, MD

Dr. Wilma I. Larsen is a graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point in New York. She completed her medical degree at the Uniformed Services University of The Health Sciences in Bethesda, MD and her residency at Madigan Army Medical Center in Tacoma, WA.

Dr. Larsen is a member of the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons, the American Urogynecologic Society and the International Urogynocological Association. She is the ACOG District XI Junior Fellow Advisor and Member of the Distric XI Executive Committee. Dr. Larsen has been the recipient of the Legion of Merit and Bronze Star Medal.

Dr. Larsen is currently the Assistant Chair of ob-gyn for BaylorScott and White Health at Scott and White Memorial Hospital in Temple, TX. She is also the Program Director for Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery at Texas A+M Sciences Center COM as well as an Associate Professor of ob-gyn there.

Young Physician-at-Large — Tamara Helfer, MD

Dr. Tamara Helfer practices Obstetrics and Gynecology with Christie Clinic in Champaign, IL.  A graduate of the University of Illinois, Dr. Helfer earned her MBA at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and her medical degree at the University of Illinois College of Medicine in Peoria, IL. Dr. Helfer completed her residency at the University of Missouri Hospital in Columbia, MO.

Dr. Helfer served on different ACOG committees: Coding and Health Economics and Practice Management.  At this time she sits on the Industrial Exhibits Committee. She has been ACOG's District VI Young Physician for the past 7 years. She is also the Past President of Champaign County Medical Society.  She enjoys having undergraduates, midlevel care providers, and medical students from the University of Illinois shadow her Practice. Once a semester, she is a guest lecturer to undergraduates and speaks on Ethics in Medicine.

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (The College), a 501(c)(3) organization, is the nation’s leading group of physicians providing health care for women. As a private, voluntary, nonprofit membership organization of approximately 58,000 members, The College strongly advocates for quality health care for women, maintains the highest standards of clinical practice and continuing education of its members, promotes patient education, and increases awareness among its members and the public of the changing issues facing women’s health care. The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), a 501(c)(6) organization, is its companion organization.

Follow us:     Twitter     Facebook     You Tube     BLOG

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188
Mailing Address: PO Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998