ACOG Elects New Officers

April 30, 2014

Chicago, IL — Today, The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) announced the election of Mark S. DeFrancesco, MD, MBA, of Connecticut, as President Elect; Lisa M. Hollier, MD, MPH, of Texas, as Assistant Secretary; Lydia M. Jeffries, MD, of North Carolina, as Fellow-at-Large, and Rajiv B. Gala, MD, of Louisiana, as Young Physician-at-Large. They will assume their respective offices on April 30, 2014.

“Women’s health is at the forefront of health care conversations in America. For the first time in history, we are making women a priority in the health care system – and rightly so, because an investment in women’s health is an investment in America’s future,” said ACOG President Jeanne A. Conry, MD, PhD, assistant physician in chief at The Permanente Medical Group in Roseville, CA. “ACOG’s new officers are leaders in women’s health, representing the best of our profession. I am confident that they will continue to make sure that every woman, every time, gets the care that she deserves.”

Mark S DeFrancesco, MD, MBAPresident Elect -- Mark S. DeFrancesco, MD, MBA

Dr. Mark S. DeFrancesco is in private practice in Waterbury, Connecticut. He is a founding member of Women’s Health Connecticut, and served as its chief medical officer for many years. A graduate of Yale University, he received his medical education at the University of Connecticut, where he is currently an assistant clinical professor. Dr. DeFrancesco also earned an MBA from the University of New Haven.

Over the years, Dr. DeFrancesco has served in many ACOG positions at the local, regional, and national levels. He is a board member and a past president of the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care, and is currently the president of the New England Obstetrical and Gynecological Society. He has also been a longtime member of the Connecticut State Medical Society, serving on the legislative committee for many years, and is a past president of the Connecticut Society of American Board Obstetricians and Gynecologists. He was awarded the Patients’ Choice Award and was named one of America’s Top Obstetricians and Gynecologists. In 2009, Dr. DeFrancesco was inducted as an honorary member of SOCHOG, the Chilean Obstetrics and Gynecology Society.

Prior to his medical career, Dr. DeFrancesco served as a State Representative in the Connecticut Legislature.

Lisa M. Hollier, MD, MPHAssistant Secretary -- Lisa M. Hollier, MD, MPH

Dr. Lisa M. Hollier is a board certified professor of maternal-fetal medicine and the director of the Division of Women’s Health Law and Policy at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas.  She is a graduate of Pomona College in Claremont, California, and completed her medical degree at Tulane University School of Medicine in New Orleans, where she also earned a masters in public health. Dr. Hollier completed her residency at Baylor University Medical Center and completed a fellowship in maternal-fetal medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.

She is currently the Medical Director of Obstetrics and Gynecology for the Texas Children’s Health Plan Centers for Children and Women.  This new initiative creates patient-centered medical homes that provide coordinated care for women and children enrolled in medicaid.

Lydia M. Jeffries, MDFellow-at-Large -- Lydia M. Jeffries, MD

Dr. Lydia M. Jeffries is a graduate of the University of Iowa in Iowa City. Dr. Jeffries also completed her medical degree at the University of Iowa College of Medicine in Iowa City and her residency at Duke University’s Medical Center in Durham, North Carolina.

Dr. Jeffries is a member of the North Carolina Obstetrics and Gynecology Society, J. Bayard Carter Society of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and Southern Obstetrics and Gynecology Society. She serves on Ob¬GynPAC governing committee and is chair of District IV Committee for State Legislative Activities and Professional Liability. She also served the North Carolina Section as chair and vice ¬chair. Dr. Jeffries is in private practice at the Asheville Women’s Medical Center in North Carolina.

Rajiv B. Gala, MDYoung Physician-at-Large -- Rajiv B. Gala, MD

Dr. Rajiv B. Gala is on the faculty at Ochsner Medical Center Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and is an associate professor of ob-gyn at the University of Queensland/Ochsner Clinical School in New Orleans. Dr. Gala is a graduate of Birmingham-Southern College in Birmingham, Alabama. He completed his medical degree and residency at the University of Alabama School of Medicine in Birmingham.

He is on the Resident Selection Committees at Ochsner Medical Center and the University of Texas Southwestern Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Previously, Dr. Gala was an assistant professor of ob-gyn at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology in Dallas.

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (The College), a 501(c)(3) organization, is the nation’s leading group of physicians providing health care for women. As a private, voluntary, nonprofit membership organization of more than 58,000 members, The College strongly advocates for quality health care for women, maintains the highest standards of clinical practice and continuing education of its members, promotes patient education, and increases awareness among its members and the public of the changing issues facing women’s health care. The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), a 501(c)(6) organization, is its companion

Follow us:     Twitter     Facebook     You Tube     BLOG 

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188
Mailing Address: PO Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998