Haffner Award


Announcement from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG):


Call for Nominations

2018 William H.J. Haffner Award


Nominations for the ACOG 2018 William H.J. Haffner Award are now being solicited from throughout the Indian healthcare system! This award recognizes the superlative efforts of those individuals who have made major contributions to improving the quality of American Indian/Alaska Native women’s health and health care. Award nominees must abide by the following criteria:


  • Be a healthcare professional (e.g. obstetrician-gynecologist, family physician, registered nurse, certified nurse midwife, nurse practitioner, etc.);
  • Clearly demonstrate a long-term commitment and dedication to providing exceptional care to American Indian/Alaska Native Women;
  • Currently work in an Indian Health Service or Tribal position, or be recently retired from such a position.


*Members of the American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health Committee/consultant team are not eligible for the award, but may nominate eligible individuals.



The recipient of the ACOG 2018 William H.J. Haffner Award will receive:

  • Waived registration fee, up to four nights of hotel (room and tax) and airfare (within government guidelines) to attend the 2018 ACOG Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting in Austin, TX;
  • Recognition at the American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health Committee breakfast at the 2018 ACOG Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting.


Nominations will be reviewed and scored by the awards committee of the ACOG Committee on American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health: the chair of the ACOG American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health Committee serves as the chair of the awards committee, and the IHS Chief Clinical Consultant for Obstetrics and Gynecology serves as a non-­voting resource to the awards committee. An endowed fund raised by contributions from friends of ACOG and its Indian women’s health initiatives, supplemented by ACOG’s overall endowment, support the cost of sustaining this annual award process.


*To submit a nomination: email a letter of nomination and a CV of the person nominated to Justine Joo at jjoo@acog.org. Any questions about the award or the nomination process may be addressed to Justine  at (202) ­863-­1637 or the above email address.


The deadline for submission of nominations is December 7, 2017.


Previous recipients of this prestigious award include:

2017 - Ursula Knoki-Wilson, Certified Nurse Midwife

2016 - Amanda Leib, MD, Obstetrician-Gynecologist

2015 - Marilyn Pierce-Bulger, Certified Nurse Midwife

2014 - John S. Condojani, DO, Family Practitioner

2013 - Ann Glasheen, Family Nurse Practitioner

2012 - Judith Thierry, DO, Pediatrician

2011 - Nigel Wappett, MD, Obstetrician-Gynecologist