Haffner Award


Call for Nominations

2019 William H.J. Haffner Award


Nominations for the 2019 ACOG Outstanding AI/AN Women’s Healthcare Clinician Award, also known as the William H.J. Haffner AI/AN Women’s Health Award, are now being solicited from throughout the Indian healthcare system! This award recognizes the exceptional efforts of those individuals who have made major contributions to improving the quality of American Indian/Alaska Native women’s health and health care. Award nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a healthcare professional (e.g. obstetrician-gynecologist, family physician, registered nurse, certified nurse midwife, nurse practitioner, etc.);
  • Clearly demonstrate a long-term commitment and dedication to providing exceptional care to American Indian/Alaska Native Women;
  • Currently work in an Indian Health Service or Tribal position, or be recently retired from such a position.

The recipient of the ACOG 2019 William H.J. Haffner Award will receive:

  • Waived registration fee, up to four nights of hotel (room and tax) and airfare (within government guidelines) to attend the 2019 ACOG Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting in Nashville, TN;
  • Recognition at the American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health Committee breakfast meeting at the 2019 ACOG Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting.

Nominations will be reviewed and scored by the awards committee of the ACOG Committee on American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health: the chair of the ACOG American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health Committee serves as the chair of the awards committee, and the IHS Chief Clinical Consultant for Obstetrics and Gynecology serves as a non-¬voting resource to the awards committee. An endowed fund raised by contributions from friends of ACOG and its Indian women’s health initiatives, supplemented by ACOG’s overall endowment, support the cost of sustaining this annual award process.


*Members of the American Indian/Alaska Native Women’s Health Committee/consultant team are not eligible for the award, but may nominate eligible individuals.


*To submit a nomination: Email a letter of nomination and a CV of the person nominated to Justine Joo ( Any questions about the award or the nomination process may be addressed to Ms. Malloy ( or to Justine Joo.


 The deadline for submission of nominations is December 10, 2018.




Previous recipients of this prestigious award include:

Glen Kishi, MD, Obstetrician-Gynecologist (2018)

Ursula Knoki-Wilson, Certified Nurse Midwife (2017)

Amanda Leib, MD, Obstetrician-Gynecologist (2016)

Marilyn Pierce-Bulger, Certified Nurse Midwife (2015)

John S. Condojani, DO, Family Practitioner (2014)

Ann Glasheen, Family Nurse Practitioner (2013)

Judith Thierry, DO, Pediatrician (2012)

Nigel Wappett, MD, Obstetrician-Gynecologist (2011)



Yvonne Malloy
Native American Health Programs


American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188