Honorary Fellowship

Purpose: Honorary Fellowship celebrates distinguished peers outside of ACOG who make a difference in women’s health on a global scale.

Description/Criteria: Honorary Fellowship may be bestowed upon an individual of outstanding achievement in the field of obstetrics and gynecology or in an allied discipline that affects women’s health and the specialty. Recipients shall be presented with the award at the ACOG Annual Convocation Ceremony during the Annual Meeting. Honorary Fellows receive ACOG Membership Benefits, such as access to the member-only side of the website, and a subscription to Obstetrics & Gynecology (The Green Journal).

Recipients will receive round-trip coach class airfare to the ACOG Annual Meeting, complimentary registration, 3 nights’ hotel accommodation and an invitation to the International Guests Reception. Recipient shall be presented with the award at the ACOG Annual Convocation Ceremony.

Procedure: Nominations for the award are open to exemplary individuals who meet the above criteria. Any ACOG Fellow or Junior Fellow in good standing may nominate an individual for this award. Application is online and must be submitted for review by the Executive Committee of the Executive Board on or before June 1. The Executive Committee will review the nominations and approve Honorary Fellowship in their capacity as representatives of the Executive Board.  Please see criteria and application for more information.

2017 Recipients:  Leila V. Adamyan, MD, PhD; Chiara Benedetto, MD, PhD;  Michael Permezel, MD; and Abdul Aziz Yahya, MD.

See the article in the 2017 Annual Meeting Daily News.

ACOG Contact: Office of Executive Vice President and CEO, evp@acog.org 202-863-2500


American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188
Mailing Address: PO Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998