Alabama Legends

Alabama Legends in Obstetrics and Gynecology


In 2009 the Advisory Council of the Alabama Section ACOG resolved to formally recognize a group of physicians who have made extraordinary contributions to the practice of obstetrics and gynecology in the state of Alabama.  By doing so, we intend to honor these individuals as well as to preserve a record of their legacy for future generations.  Individuals are nominated by members of the section and one physician is selected each year by the Advisory Council.  This recognition is presented at the Annual Spring Meeting.

Please click on the links below to view a short biographical article for each honoree. 

Dr. Max Austin

Dr. John C. Hauth

Dr. Hiram W. Mendenhall

Dr. W. Nicholson Jones

Dr. O. M. Otts, Jr.

Dr. Charles E. Flowers, Jr.

Dr. Bruce A. Harris


Harper Wood
Section Administrator

American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188 | Mailing Address: PO Box 70620, Washington, DC 20024-9998