Gibbons Award

The Gibbons Award is to be distributed to medical students in order to fund travel to ACOG meetings (either the ACM or the ADM) with the purpose of encouraging their interest in the specialty of obstetrics and gynecology. 

Fellow Section Chairs select the final award recipients, so please forward names and applications to your individual Fellow Section Chair (See Officer Roster on ACOG Website- Starting on Page 9 to obtain information for your Section Fellow).  Please copy the JF District IV Chair at  The names of the Gibbons Award recipients need to be submitted 30 days prior to the conference.

For 2012 each Section has $2000 allotted for Gibbons Awards for the entire year, plus an additional $1000 for ADM.

Section JF Officers should serve as mentors for their Gibbons Award Medical Students at the conference and introduce them to Fellows in their Section and District.

Students must follow-up with a reflection on their experience and submit an expense voucher within 30 days to be reimbursed to:

Wade Neiman, MD
District IV Treasurer
114 Nationwide Dr
Lynchburg, VA 24502-4271
Official: (434)239-7890
Fax: (434)237-9222

If the required documents (receipts and reflection statement) are not received within 30 days the student will not be reimbursed.


Jennifer Keller, MD

ACOG District IV: