District Advisory Council welcomes new Kansas and Missouri Section chairs

Dr. Kathryn E. Sawchak
Dr. Kathryn E.

The District VII Advisory Council is composed of representatives from each of its nine sections. Every year, two to three sections rotate new members onto the council. Each section representative has a three-year term. This rotation provides continual renewal with new members while maintaining history with more senior members. The council is led by four district officers who also have three-year terms. The district encourages all ACOG members to get involved with their sections and consider one of the many available local leadership roles.

Kathryn E. “Kassie” Sawchak, MD, is the new Kansas Section chair and representative on the District Advisory Council. She is in private practice in Hutchinson, KS. Her practice includes management of an office and an outpatient surgery center. Thus, she understands the range of issues affecting office and institutional practice, as well as the current challenges of the business of medicine. In addition to her busy practice responsibilities, Dr. Sawchak is a wife and mother who finds time to train for and run half marathons. As Kansas Section chair, Dr. Sawchak hopes to engage more ob-gyns in the Kansas Section.

Dr. Octavio R. Chirino
Dr. Octavio R.

Octavio R. “Tavo” Chirino, MD, is the new Missouri Section chair and representative on the District Advisory Council. He has been in private practice since 1977 and also chairs the department of ob-gyn at Mercy St. Louis, where he is committed to the development of new and innovative women’s services. As an active outdoor enthusiast, Dr. Chirino often rides bicycles with his wife on trails in the St. Louis area. During his tenure, Dr. Chirino hopes to involve many physicians in the legislative process in Missouri.

Drs. Sawchak and Chirino encourage the physicians of their sections to join them at the combined Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma Section Meeting at Big Cedar Lodge near Branson, MO, June 13–14.

American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188 | Mailing Address: PO Box 70620, Washington, DC 20024-9998