Secretary’s report

Dr. Steven W. RemmengaSteven W. Remmenga, MD

The District VI Advisory Council held its Annual Business Meeting at the 2012 Annual District Meeting. Council members felt many of the topics addressed would be of interest to members.

Chair’s report
Thomas F. Arnold, MD, District VI chair, began the business meeting with his report. He shared that attendance and revenue from the Annual Clinical Meeting (ACM) and ACOG publications are down. Challenges to and ways to improve ACM attendance are being examined.

Subspecialty societies are becoming more active. The American Urogynecologic Society (AUGS), Society of Gynecologic Oncology (SGO), Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine (SMFM), and Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility all have representatives on the ACOG Executive Board. Each of the societies is proposing patient registries, and other projects were shared as part of the business meeting’s agenda.

SGO is working on an endometrial cancer registry, looking specifically at outcomes, and is forming an advocacy work group to explore adequate reimbursement for gynecologic oncology. SMFM is creating a website to assist its membership with education. AUGS is forming an outcomes registry for prolapse and mesh procedures. The society also plans to release credentialing guidelines for vaginal, abdominal, and robotic sacralcolpopexy procedures. There is concern that robotic procedures are being performed with minimal to no training.

Two documents approved by the ACOG Executive Board are available on the ACOG website for review. The first document is a policy statement on global women’s health and rights issued in July 2012. The second is a Committee Opinion on professional relationships with industry released in November 2012.

Vice chair’s report
Laura A. Dean, MD, District VI vice chair, announced that the 2013 ADM will be held at the Grand Wailea Resort in Maui, HI, September 26–28. It will be a quad-district meeting with Districts V, VI, VIII, and IX in attendance. The venue is outstanding, and District VIII is in charge of the program. The room rate is $199 and should be good for three to four days before and after the meeting dates. Dr. Arnold noted that the program for this meeting on patient safety will become an ACOG postgraduate course. Districts I and III used the same course at their 2012 ADM. He congratulated Dr. Dean on her planning of the 2012 ADM.

Treasurer’s report
Denise M. Elser, MD, District VI treasurer, noted that the district has been doing well financially and that the Interim District Advisory Council Meeting in Puerto Rico came in well under budget. The 2013 budget was approved and is budget neutral this year.

Nominating Committee
ACOG Assistant Secretary Thomas M. Gellhaus, MD, immediate past District VI chair, reported the results of the District VI Nominating Committee meeting held in September. The 2013–16 election slate as nominated by the committee and approved by the District Advisory Committee is:

  • Steve W. Remmenga, MD, chair
  • Denise M. Elser, MD, vice chair
  • Thaddeus L. Anderson, MD, treasurer
  • Bridget B. Keller, MD, secretary

Legislative Committee
Thaddeus L. Anderson, MD, District VI Legislative Committee chair, reported that the district will continue to fund one Fellow and the Junior Fellow vice chair from each section to the ACOG Congressional Leadership Conference, The President’s Conference. He asked members to seek out ACOG’s Importance of Advocacy Video on the ACOG website. Read more from Dr. Anderson in this newsletter.

2012 has been a landmark year for health care in the US with the Supreme Court ruling in favor of the constitutionality of the Affordable Care Act. Major revisions in the way that health care is provided and reimbursed will take place over the next several years. It is important for all members of ACOG to be up-to-date on these issues. Involvement in advocacy at local and national levels is essential for all members.

Patient Safety Committee
Joel B. Henry, MD, District VI patient safety officer, recommended the Patient Safety Committee be disbanded. He reported difficulties with implementation of projects at the district level. The district will continue to have a representative on the ACOG Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Committee. This representative, the District VI patient safety officer, will act as a liaison to the District Advisory Committee. Read more from Dr. Henry in this newsletter.

Section officers
Dr. Arnold introduced the incoming section officers at the business meeting and recognized some of the outgoing officers as well. A list of district and section officers can be found in this (and every) newsletter.

District VI has a presence on the ACOG website and on Facebook. Tamara G. Helfer, MD, District VI young physician and webmaster, has been instrumental in developing these areas, and we thank her for her efforts.

If you have any announcements or information you’d like included in our newsletter, on our website, or on our Facebook page, please contact Stephanie Williams, District VI manager, at

American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188 | Mailing Address: PO Box 70620, Washington, DC 20024-9998