Patient Safety Committee

Dr. Joel B. HenryJoel B. Henry, MD, District VI patient safety officer

In 2007, under the leadership of Thomas M. Gellhaus, MD, as District VI chair, the District VI Advisory Council moved to form a Patient Safety Committee, appointing Kenneth L. Naylor, MD, as its first chair. Since then, the voluntary members of this committee have held ad hoc teleconferences and in-person meetings at the time of the Interim and Annual District Advisory Council meetings. 

The committee chair also serves as the District VI representative on the ACOG Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Committee. This national committee has been responsible for numerous Committee Opinions and other publications, including recent safety checklists.

Over the years, the district committee has struggled with the task of providing a usable service at the district level. Recently, it has become evident that the most important committee work is being done at the national level. With this in mind, I recommended the District VI Patient Safety Committee be disbanded. The District Advisory Council voted to do so at the 2012 Annual District Meeting.

I have had the privilege of serving as the District VI Patient Safety Committee chair for the past two-and-a-half years. I will retain my position as District VI patient safety officer, serving as a liaison between the ACOG Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Committee and the District Advisory Council. Our goal is to maintain at least one district representative on the hard-working national committee while avoiding duplication of efforts. The patient safety officer position will be up for appointment by the incoming district chair for its next three-year term.

American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188 | Mailing Address: PO Box 70620, Washington, DC 20024-9998