Awards and Recognitions

International Service Award

Congratulations to Dr. Gene Murff for receiving the ACOG International Service Award!

Dr. Murff is an ACOG Life Fellow and has served in various leadership and service capacities within the Ob/Gyn community both domestically and internationally. After serving thousands of women in central Texas, Dr. Murff turned his skill and passion to Doctors Without Borders, an organization devoted to helping people worldwide where the need is greatest, and delivering emergency medical aid to people affected by conflict, epidemics, disasters or exclusion from health care. Dr. Murff has served tirelessly in West Africa, to the point of putting his own life in danger by contracting Lassa fever, an acute viral illness present in the region. Those that know Dr. Murff have lauded his commitment to serving women both domestically and internationally. He is a great example and leader to others and, to quote a District XI Advisory Council member, “He makes us proud to be Ob/Gyns”.

Click here to read an article about Dr. Murff’s work.

Award Recipients at the ACOG Annual Meeting

At the ACM

Congratulations to Dr. David Lakey and Dr. Dudley Baker for receiving awards at the ACOG Annual Meeting!

David Lakley 

Dr. David Lakey, Associate Vice Chancellor for Population Health at The University of Texas System and former Commissioner of the Texas Department of State Health Services, is the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award. This award is given to an outstanding individual who has made important contributions within ACOG or in government, research, teaching or direct patient care. Dr. Lakey was nominated and selected for this award for his tireless advocacy and championing of women’s health in Texas.

Dr. Dudley Baker 

Dr. Dudley Baker is the recipient of the Outstanding District Service Award. This award honors those Fellows that have performed outstanding and truly unique services at a district level. In addition to serving in countless leadership capacities, Dr. Baker has been recognized as a mentor to his colleagues, peers and residents. He taught and mentored thousands of students and residents during his time in academic medicine, and inspired countless individuals to pursue ob/gyn and ob/gyn subspecialties. His dedication and leadership in District XI inspires the work of all who have the pleasure of working with him.

Carrie Kaufman, MD 

Toy Advocacy Fellowship
Carrie Kaufman, MD

Congratulations to Dr. Carrie Kaufman for being selected as the 2014-2015 District XI Toy Fellow. The Toy Fellowship fund was created through a generous donation by Dr. and Mrs. Eugene and Terri Toy to support the District’s advocacy efforts. The Fellow is charged with following all state legislative activities pertinent to the practice of OB/GYNs.

2015 ACOG Mentor Awards

Congratulations to following DXI physicians for being nominated and chosen to receive the 2015 ACOG Mentor Award.

The Mentor Award is given to an ACOG Fellow, including teachers of residents, who has actively mentored a Young Physician or a Junior Fellow. The award requires a nomination by a Young Physician or Junior Fellow and must be associated with mentoring in the early years of practice.

  • Pamela Promecene, MD
  • Timothy Kremer, MD
  • Kimberly Kho, MD
  • John Harkins, MD
  • John Gianopoulos, MD
  • Maged Constantine, MD
  • Zachary Chipman, MD


International Session Award

Dr. Bernard Lynch, the District XI representative to the ACOG/Japan Society of Ob Gyn (JSOG) exchange program in Yokohama, Japan, recently received the International Session Award for his research on the Lynch Syndrome. Dr. Lynch is a PGY-IV at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Dr. Lynch has served in various leadership capacities in District XI, including as the past Section 5 Junior Fellow Chair.

2014-2015 Donald F. Richardson Memorial Prize Paper Award Winner

Janice Mitchell, MD, was selected for the Donald F. Richardson Memorial Prize Paper Award for her paper titled Uterine Cooling During Cesarean Section to Reduce Blood Loss and Incidence of Postpartum Hemorrhage:ARandomizedControlledTrial.

Dr. Mitchell received her medical degree at the University of Texas Medical School at Houston, Texas, and is currently completing her residency at Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas.
Dr. Mitchell will present her winning paper at the 2015 Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting in San Francisco, California.

American Medical Association-Resident and Fellow Section (AMA-RFS) representative from ACOG

Dr. Christine Pan was recently selected by District XI as the American Medical Association-Resident and Fellow Section (AMA-RFS) representative from ACOG. The AMA Resident and Fellow Section is the largest organization of resident and fellow physicians in the United States.  It was created by the AMA in 1974 to represent and advocate for resident and fellow physicians and to train young physician leaders. 
Dr. Pan is a resident physician at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, LBJ. She also serves as the Program Representative to the District XI Advisory Council for her program.

2014 ACOG State Legislative Advocacy Awards

District XI was selected to receive the 2014 ACOG Accomplishment in State Legislative Advocacy Award for our strategic vision in developing, implementing and refining the ‘Me and My OBG’ grassroots tool to re-engage patients and Fellows, and advance our short and long term legislative goals.

A special thank you to Dr. Lisa Hollier, Legislative Advocacy Chair and Past District Chair, for her legislative efforts.

For more information and to visit Me and My OBG, please visit:,, and

Creighton Edwards, MD, Award in Compassionate Care

Congratulations to Dr. Alyssa Brown for receiving the Creighton Edwards, MD, Award in Compassionate Care. The annual Edwards Award was created and funded to recognize a Texas ob-gyn Resident in Training who has demonstrated an outstanding ability to communicate compassion, empathy, and respect for patients while providing superior medical care. Dr. Brown is currently completing her residency at the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. She received her medical degree at the University Of South Florida College Of Medicine.


Sarah Rayburn

ACOG District XI:

American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188 | Mailing Address: PO Box 70620, Washington, DC 20024-9998