Awards Outside of ACOG

Nominate a researcher for the prestigious Eugene J. Van Scott Award for Innovative Therapy of the Skin and Phillip Frost Leadership Lecture. Offered by the American Academy of Dermatology and made possible through a generous contribution from Phillip Frost, MD, FAAD, this Award and Lecture is given in recognition of significant contributions toward an innovative therapy of the skin, hair and/or nails. Open to all; not restricted to a dermatologist.

AMAG Pharmaceuticals, Inc. has awarded $300,000 in grants—an increase of $150,000 from last year—to fund research aimed at reducing premature birth and improving the health of neonates and infants in the United States through its Prematurity Research Grants Program. The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists congratulates the 2016 recipient principal investigators:

  • Mir Basir, M.D., an associate professor at the Medical College of Wisconsin who is researching the use of digital multimedia to enhance prematurity counseling; 

  • Ruitang Deng, Ph.D., an associate professor of biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences at the University of Rhode Island's College of Pharmacy who is leading a study focused on cholestatis and preterm birth;

  • Wendy Kuohung, M.D., an associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology at Boston University School of Medicine and a director of the reproductive endocrinology and infertility program at Boston Medical Center who is conducting research on progesterone effects on the oral microbiome and impact on preterm birth;

  • Donna Lambers, M.D., a Maternal Fetal Medicine specialist and director of perinatal research at TriHealth in Cincinnati, Ohio, who is researching urine metabolic profiling by mass spectrometry of pregnant women at risk for preterm birth; 

  • Ramkumar Menon, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the department of obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Texas-Galveston who is conducting studies on feto-maternal exosome signaling in parturition. 

We try to carefully choose web sites, which we believe are useful and meet our high standards for the accuracy and utility of information. However, because web site design and content can change so quickly, we cannot guarantee the standards of every web site to which we link. Likewise, we are not responsible for the content of any non-ACOG site. We also cannot guarantee the privacy policies of these other sites and suggest you check the privacy policies of those sites directly. Should questions arise, please contact the granting organization directly.


American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
409 12th Street SW, Washington, DC  20024-2188 | Mailing Address: PO Box 70620, Washington, DC 20024-9998